My Teaching Philosophy as a Literature Teacher

As a teacher of literature, I will use a combination of literary theories, approaches, and practices as I endeavor the noble task of bringing the most meaningful content and message of any literary text to the students to the end that they will benefit not only in the intellectual aspect but also in social and moral aspects.

For me to understand best the literary text or topics that I will teach, I will use the most appropriate literary theory or theories. As much as possible I will seek the real intended meaning of the author as the first guide in understanding a literary piece, hence, I will use theauthorial theory. If the literary piece seems to be so alien and foreign to the students, with customs and traditions that are completely unknown to us, then, to better understand the context, history, and tradition on which it was written, I will also use theliterary tradition theory. I believe that through this I and my students will enter the world of the literary piece, hence its study will not only be comprehensible but also be alive and affective, and not dry nor shallow. To better achieve this affectionate teaching, I will also use the aesthetic theory to find how a literary work could be most appealing to the heart and imagination of the students. To prepare myself for the possible interpretations that the students could think on the given literary work, I will also consider the reader-response theory, also called the affective or pragmatic theory. This will help me to adapt and relate more to the students regarding their personal answers, and help me more to approach them in more personal ways.

The two approaches or models in teaching literature that I will use most are the personal growth model and the integrated model. The personal growth model, as a crossover and combination of the strengths of the cultural model and the language model will bring the most social and moral benefits to the students. By emphasizing the personal development of the students, they will find more substance and meaning to the study of literature. There will also be more interaction between the text and the reader because any literary piece has become personal to the students. The integrated modelwill also be effective because it presents a balance approach to the linguistic, methodological and motivational aspects of the study of literature.

During the class activity, I will emphasize oral and lively activities. These will include group discussions, debates, role playing, and possibly even conducting declamation and speech choirs. I will create an atmosphere where students could freely express their opinions and differences in beliefs in healthy, uplifting, and enlightening ways.

Before reading and studying the literary text, I will prepare the mindset and the emotions of the students by playing a music, presenting some illustrations, or showing a video clip that will arouse their interest and curiosity for the subject.

I’ll present the literary text in creative ways like the use of games if it’s not too long, like jigsaw reading, and if it’s long I’ll use presentation slides. If the literary is dramatic, I’ll play a dramatic audio recording of the piece.

Lastly, after the presentation of the literary text, I will let the students explore their ideas and let them have their adventurous ways go to wild proportions by role playing and will be ended by personal life application thoughts that will help them grow as individual human beings that serve as catalysts for societal transformation.

Leave a Reply

