Politics, the Prosperity Gospel, and the Christian Servant

What about a founder of a large Christian Church who decides to leave this spiritual leadership so he could serve in the political world of politics?Are Christians (which includes great Christian leaders) the only ones whom God has called to serve as public servants or politicians?I believe, that yes, God could use (as He has done in the past) even the unbelievers for His Kingdom purposes (Take a look in Romans 13 and 1 Peter 2). In fact, those whom He raised as politicians (public servants) are more equipped and trained in public service. And about their integrity? I know that there are some few out there whom He has preserved from the corruption of the heart regarding bribery, graft and corruption.
It is a very wrong view that God would not use the unbelievers for political purposes. More often than not, He uses the unbelievers for this purpose. And He calls the Church to influence the society more often through witnessing, having a holy life and getting involved in other social activities, rather than entering politics.

The church, very often, as evidenced in history, is easily corrupted when engaged in the world of politics. It is a wonder to me that many Christians today dream of getting rich, and even preach of getting rich and accumulating material prosperity in this world as a sign of God’s favor and approval. That is one inner motive why Christians enter politics – not really to serve, but to be served and for self-gain. Not all, but most of them.

But that was the opposite of the example of Jesus, the apostles, and the martyrs of the Church. They lived simple lives, the kind of life that looks on the eternal life with God as their inheritance. Their pleasures are fed on God, and not on the material things of this world. I am not against money or being rich, but I despise the passionate desire to be rich, especially among God’s servants. Surely, God has called a few people who will serve in the Kingdom by abundant giving and material resources but they are very few and in God’s design that is not always the case.

The prevailing Gospel today is the Prosperity Gospel (also called the health, wealth, and prosperity gospel), wherein it is taught that a Christian is destined to live a prosperous life – materially in this world as a sign of God’s approval. This is the Laodicean Church, the lukewarm church as portrayed in Revelation 3: 14-22. This Church has prosperity and material riches on the inside, but Christ was outside knocking at the door of their hearts. Take heed.

As a conclusion based on my daily observation in light of God’s Word:

1. Most Christians that enter politics are looking for self-gain and prosperity, inspired and motivated by their strong belief in the Prosperity Gospel.

2. Public service is only their second real agenda.

3. If elected, they will only bring economic prosperity, and not true spiritual progress. This may seem tolerable because as politicians, their primary aim is economic progress and not spiritual progress. My point is that their current thinking will sacrifice the spiritual to give way to the economical.

4. These kind of leaders will only lead the Church to aspire also for financial prosperity, sacrificing their spiritual condition before the Lord. Aiming for money and loving for Jesus could never go hand-on-hand. They will always be against each other.

10 thoughts on “Politics, the Prosperity Gospel, and the Christian Servant

  1. This subject, not so much the politcal side but the ‘prosperity message’ has a direct link to what you’ve been saying on my site. I believe Jesus desires the messge of hope in our salvation, the love walk, and faith in God that is not dependant on God being our investment for earthly returns. To give you an example, I was very broke a few years back and needed money for some honest bills I owed. I pay for my own fuel in my semi-truck, that is my biggest expense, and when I looked at the money I needed, I did not consider the money I gave, I considered God and His power to sustain me in all things. I prayed and He reminded me about the feeding of five thousand, so I stopped and got out of my truck and blessed my fuel. My average mpg was around 6.4 miles to the gallon, and the next day it started to climb, it kept climbing until it reached 10 miles to the gallon. It stayed that way until I had the money I needed, and then it dropped back down to the normal. You see, God is more than the return on our tithes, in fact giving for a return flies in the face of what Jesus taught anyway. Giving because we love God, that’s the message that holds the power that will set us free from the deceptive fruits of prosperity. Less focus on giving our money, and more balanced focus on giving our everything including our hearts to those who don’t deserve our forgiveness or compassion or mercy, or anything. Freely I have received, freely I give. I freely received forgiveness, and mercy, and grace, that is what I give freely and yes sometimes that does involve money to those who ask because giving is giving and once God has our hearts, we freely give the rest to others. God bless you.

    1. Yes you are right. We often tend to forget the real inheritance that is already available to us – God, and instead we tend to look on physical aspects as sign of our blessedness, while in reality we are so much already blessed. It is so good to know from the Scriptures that God does not always bless us materially in order for us to taste the Glory of His friendship, but rather, often He does the opposite: We realise more our blessedness in times of hardship, pain, and suffering because amidst all lost, we can say with Job: “Naked came I out of my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return thither: the LORD gave, and the LORD hath taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD.” (Job 1: 21). Praise be to God!

      1. Amen! God has blessed you with a wonderful heart that seeks His ways. And I am very glad our paths have crossed, God bless you always, Kevin

Leave a Reply

