Training Up the Children

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Teaching at the Sunday School for children is my first ministry, beginning from 2005. And until now, I still find myself having the joy of training up the children for Christ.

Right now, I teach at the Sunday School at JIL San Teodoro. And as always, I am tempted to teach academically: dictating the lecture notes, giving quizzes, oral recitations, Scripture memorization, and assignments. Well, these things aren’t bad after all, for I desire also the Sunday School to be a training ground for their studies at school. I simply would like them to be acquainted and trained for future academic life in school.

However, I thank God that I am not missing the real virtue of the Sunday School, and that is to help them grow more in the image of Christ, and that is the very essence of discipleship. By simple ways, I am trying to teach the children how to really pray, and we do it ‘hands-on’. I also ask them to pray for a friend to come to know Christ as a regular assignment. And during our sessions, I also ask them questions that relate to their everyday life and try to give them instructions on how to be a better person.

In my mind and heart, I always ask myself, ‘Is what I am doing really enough to help them grow in Christ?’ which is easily followed by a prayer, ‘Lord, bless our sessions and make them instruments so they may know You more.’

Leave a Reply

